While most states have similar laws when it comes to drinking and driving, they generally differ in some ways. As your Oregon DUII lawyer, I want you to fully understand the Oregon law and how it may apply to you when it comes to drinking and driving charges.
In Oregon, any driver on the road has already consented to taking a breath or chemical test if there is probable cause you are operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol. This includes any breath, blood or urine sample. Anyone with a blood alcohol level greater than .08 percent will have failed the test. Anyone younger than 21 with ANY trace of alcohol can have their license suspended.
This means if you are suspected of driving under the influence of either and you refuse to submit to a test, you will likely lose your driving privileges if found guilty.
An officer will likely confiscate your license and issue you a temporary one, but that one is only valid for 30 days.
The penalties grow harsher with each subsequent offense.
If you are facing any type of driving under the influence charges, it is crucial to speak with an knowledgeable Portland DUII lawyer who can fight for your freedom. Call today for a free, initial consultation.