(971) 205-3266
Free Consultation

What are the Punishments for Multiple DUIIs in Oregon?

Drunk driving is taken very seriously in Oregon. This is evidenced by the strong penalties for just a single offense. But when someone is arrested for subsequent DUIIs, the penalties become even more severe. If you have been arrested for a second or third DUII (or more), you need an experienced attorney to help you through this process. There is a significant threat to your liberty with these arrests, therefore the accused should not simply plead guilty before speaking with a lawyer.

For a second DUII in Oregon, a person can face up to one year in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. They will also have their license suspended for three years and be required to install an ignition interlock. For a third DUII in Oregon, a person can face up to five years in prison, up to $10,000 in fines, and a permanent license suspension. This assumes that the subsequent arrests were within ten years of a previous arrest. So, for instance, if a person got a DUII in 2003 and got a second in 2015, the previous DUII would not be relevant in their sentencing.

It is important to note that the previous conviction does not have to come from Oregon. If a person was convicted of drunk driving in California in 2008 and was arrested for DUII in Oregon in 2015, they will be sentenced as a two-time offender if they are convicted.

The DUII attorneys at Kroll & Johnson can help if you have been arrested multiple times for driving under the influence of intoxicants. Some people simply plead guilty without speaking to an attorney, which is generally a mistake. During our free consultation, we can explain exactly how we can potentially help with your arrest. To learn more, contact Kroll & Johnson right away.

Fill out the form below and a member of our staff will be in touch with you regarding your case.