In Oregon, teens as young as 15 years old may be tried and possibly convicted as an adult in some cases. It is crucial if you or your loved one is charged with a crime as a juvenile and may be facing adult charges, he or she is represented by an attorney who can confidently defend him or her. You need to have an experienced Oregon defense law firm on your side.
Any juvenile, aged 15 or older may be tried as an adult if the person commits any one of 21 specific felonies Courts will take many factors into consideration when considering how to charge a juvenile. A juvenile who has previously faced charges may face adult charges.
There are two ways a juvenile can be tried as an adult.
With a discretionary waiver, for youth age 15 and older that meet the statutorily delineated offense criteria, after transfer hearing
Once an adult, always an adult: “After the juvenile court has entered an order waiving a youth to an adult court…the court may, if the youth is 16 years of age or older, enter a subsequent order providing that in all future cases involving the same youth, the youth shall be waived to [criminal court].
There is a vast difference in being charged as a juvenile and being charged as an adult in the courts. In juvenile court, most records will remain private unless a crime was a felony. When a juvenile reaches 18, his or her record will be expunged. Within the juvenile system, the goal is to both treat the minor as well as educate him or her above other things.
If you or your loved one is facing juvenile charges, especially if those may be transferred to adult court, it is crucial to have a strong Oregon defense law firm standing behind you and fighting on your behalf. Call today for your free, initial consultation.